Customize

Need an atty's advise/help..ASAP

Discussion in 'GoldBase' started by formerlyIN, Jul 29, 2008.

1. formerlyIN Member

Need an atty's advise/help..ASAP

I am scheduled to give my affidavit tomorrow AM and was just informed that it will be video taped. I knew it would be recorded. but this is the first I heard of the taping. Is this standard?

I could only have an atty present, and legal aide wants no part of it. It's not going to deter me, but I want to know if I'm being jacked around.
  2. GrogStat Member

Re: Need an atty's advise/help..ASAP

I'm not a lawyer, but I am pretty sure that recording is standard.
  3. LRonAnon Member

You are OK.

Video is very powerful, and is common. Be honest, don't make over the top statements. Be clear and direct.

video is no different that an audio recording, it just adds the visual component.

Video is SOP.
  4. formerlyIN Member

Thank you. I was told it would be recorded(audio) but today they threw the video thing at me. I'm just going to answer to the best of my knowlege. Nothing added, not fabricated, and not be afraid to say "I don't know" or "I can't remember". I have to say, I am scared shitless. Once I do this, I fear things will only get worse for me...
  5. LRonAnon Member

Yes, being nervous is expected, its natural for something like this.

The audio captures the statement, the visual captures the human nature of the person as they disclose the information. THAT can be very powerful.

Expect to feel validated at times and you can also expect to feel they are prodding you. This is OK, they are looking for information and you feeling prosecuted for a moment will most likely happen, expect it and be OK with it. It is their job to investigate from an objective position.

When you feel as if your being scrutinized, realize it is OK.
  6. formerlyIN Member

Do I have the right to ask for breaks?

Can they really deny me the ability to have someone who is not an atty to be present?