Customize

Bringing anonymous to enturbulation

Discussion in 'Think Tank' started by anon5754, Mar 23, 2008.

1. anon5754 Member

Bringing anonymous to enturbulation

Regarding my post here, which nobody replied to yet-

http://forums.whyweprotest.net/showpost.php?p=93142

I think it would be beneficial to have an anonymous section of these boards where ideas can thrive in original spirit of anonymous. I think it's a creative weakness to have statements tied back to aliases. I'm not calling for this to become a completely anonymous messageboard, just to create a single sub-forum where an unbiased and open meme-pool can thrive. Ideas and arguments can then be taken from this pool and reposted elsewhere.

I'm a competent PHP programmer and can probably hack this functionality into vbulletin if admins were willing to add it. It would be well commented, open source, and completely open to review of course. Here's what I'm thinking-

* A "post anonymously" checkbox in the "additional options" section
    * authorship of anonymous posts are only visible to mods or above
    * anonymous posts don't count toward post counts
    * anonymous posts don't get listed in "all posts by this user"
    * anonymous posts must be enabled in a sub-forum before the option is available
    * you cannot edit an anonymous post.
    * possible "forced anon" forums where all posts are anonymous
    * possible "anonymous user" in user CP where every post by this user is an anonymous post
    * possibility: all user names are hidden when the viewer is not logged in, so at a glance it looks like a completely anonymous message board

Also, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x0WCLKzDFpI
  2. saerat Member

Re: Bringing anonymous to enturbulation

ooo this has my seal of approval o.o
  3. Anonabliss Member